Print Page  |  Contact Us  |  Sign In
News & Blogs: News

NEW honors 10 industry legends at 10th anniversary Summit

Friday, September 23, 2011  
Share |

Former SUPERVALU CEO Jeff Noddle, Kings Super Markets CEO Judy Spires and Frito-Lay North America President Tom Greco were among 10 "diversity heroes” honored at the Network of Executive Women’s CPG Retail Diversity Hall of Fame Awards, Sept. 19 at the Buena Vista Palace Hotel in Orlando. The ceremony featured an emotional appearance by Lynne Grize, widow of the late Ahold USA CEO Bill Grize, for whom the award is named.

More than 700 industry executives gave a standing ovation to Grize and the other honorees present: Linda Dillman, senior vice president of Hewlett-Packard, recognized for her work at Walmart; Jeri Dunn, honored for her work at Tyson Foods; Kay Palmer, CIO of J.B. Hunt; and James White, CEO of Jamba Inc., honored for his work at Safeway. Erby Foster Jr., director of diversity and inclusion for The Clorox Company, accepted the William J. Grize Diversity Award on behalf of Clorox CEO Don Knauss, also honored for his work at The Coca-Cola Company.

Two companies were also inducted: Delhaize America, represented on stage by Kristen Hanson, vice president for center store category management, and Procter & Gamble, represented by Beverly Grant, vice president and chief channel officer.

Lynne Grize accepted the first William J. Grize CPG Retail Diversity Award in honor of her late husband. "Bill believed in diversity and he always thought people were a company’s greatest asset,” she said. "Our family is so proud that he is being recognized with this award.”

A seven-minute tribute video featuring Bill Grize and the other honorees was shown to the audience.

NEW Chair Michelle Gloeckler, senior vice president, home, for Walmart US, presented the awards, which recognize "outstanding achievement promoting diversity and inclusion in the consumer products and retail industry, and for passionate support of the Network of Executive Women and its mission.”

Each honoree received a trophy depicting Athena, goddess of wisdom, holding the world aloft.

Hall of Fame gala attendees posed for pictures on the red carpet, toasted the honorees and the Network’s 10th anniversary at a champagne reception and danced at the Night of A Thousand Stars afterparty.

A silent auction held during the day raised an estimated $15,000 for the NEW scholarship program; five of the Network’s seven 2010 scholarship recipients attended.

The inaugural CPG Retail Hall of Fame honorees (from left): Judy Spires of Kings Super Markets; Clorox’s Erby Foster accepting for CEO Don Knauss; Jeri Dunn, most recently with Bacardi; Lynne Grize, accepting for the late William J. Grize; retired SUPERVALU CEO Jeff Noddle; Beverly Grant accepting for Procter & Gamble; Kristen Hanson accepting for Delhaize America; Linda Dillman of Hewlett-Packard; Kay Palmer of J.B. Hunt; James White of Jamba Inc.; and Tom Greco of Frito-Lay.

NEW members celebrate the Network's 10th anniversary on the red carpet. 

The Night of A Thousand Stars afterparty topped off the Hall of Fame gala.

FacebookTwitterYouTubeLinkedInNEW Connections

A NEW online experience
is coming soon

Some features will be limited
June 16 to July 17 [Details]